Mcarthur Stanton Final – 2019

The Final of the McArthur Stanton knockout competition was recently held at Braehead between the teams of Alistair Hope and Tim Tindal skipped by Eric Walker and Ewen Baird.   The ice was really keen and very straight which gave both skips a difficult time.  The first four ends were characterized by poor take outs and lucky shots to give Eric a lead of 3-1.  End four was decisive with Roy Greer producing a lovely double takeout and his team took a four.  The next two ends produced effective draws for Eric and Roy to give a further three.  The last two ends were hard fought by both teams with team Hope, ably skipped by the indomitable Eric Walker, running out 10-2 winners.   The McArthur Stanton trophy was presented by to the winners by Jonathan Clinch for the company who have kindly supported the competition again.

2019 Perth Outing


Four teams from Helensburgh Curling Club recently made their way up to the Dewars Centre in Perth for the club’s annual two day away competition for the Stranraer Schenkel. On slightly tricky ice for the Thursday matches teams McArthur and Cornwell emerged with two wins out of two making their Friday morning meeting a winner takes all contest for the trophy. In the final Team Mc Arthur got off to a flying start scoring 3 at the first end but Team Cornwall gradually pulled themselves back into the contest and a 4 at the third end took them into the lead. The next few ends were shared and the match reached the seventh end with the scores tied at 6-6. At the seventh end Team Cornwall scored a vital 2 leaving McArthur needing a 3 at the last end to deny them the victory. In an exciting last end they were restricted to a single shot leaving Team Cornwell to lift the trophy.

2019 Autumn Bonspiel

IMG_2813The new curling season was “opened” on Friday 25th October with the traditional bonspiel at Greenacres curling centre.
A good evening was had by all despite two of the sheets allocated being the extra cold “outer rim” of sheets E and F. The policy change introduced last year of no discussion between the skips and their thirds, was loosely adhered too, resulting in 8 ends being achieved by all rinks.  Club President Ian McArthur presented the prizes, including Chocolate Oranges to his own rink for holding up all other rink. Congratulations to the winning rink by 1 shot of Glenn Nash (skip), Alan Barker, Douglas Sammon and Mike Jane, pictured with President Ian McArthur.

2019 James Sharp Playoff Final

P1030500.JPGThe final of the James Sharp was contested between the Rink of Donald McLaren, Alex Clark, Rodger Scullion and Ian Docherty and the Rink of Jonathan Clinch, Glen Nash, Malcolm Hyatt and Mike Tait.   Many great stones were played by all the players in both Rinks.   At the first two ends the McLaren rink took single shots with superb draws by Donald McLaren.  At the third end The Clinch Rink built up four counting stones.  Donald’s draw was over-swept leaving Jonathan to draw for a five. At the fourth and fifth ends single shots were exchanged.  At the sixth end the Clinch Rink built up a good head which restricted the McLaren Rinks’ shot making, resulting in four shots for Jonathans rink.

With the score at 10 -3 in favour of the Clinch Rink the McLaren Rink conceded defeat. Pictured above is Ronnie Dunachie presenting the trophy to the winning team of Jonathan Clinch, Glen Nash, Malcolm Hyatt and Mike Tait. Pictured below Ronnie is presenting the runners up trophy Donald McLaren, Alex Clark, Rodger Scullion and Ian Docherty.P1030502.JPG

2019 Super League Final


The final of the Super League was played on 26th March, between the rink of John Laverty, Ian McArthur, George Kerr and Eric Walker and the rink of Archie Fulton, Ian McDonald, Glen Nash and Robin Irvine.  Single shots were exchanged at the first two ends. At the third end the Fulton Rink tried a promotional take out that did not work allowing John Laverty to draw for a three. At the fourth and fifth ends twos were  exchanged.  The sixth end saw the Fulton take a three to draw level.  At the last end the Fulton rink got a Lead stone inside the four foot and guarded it for the remainder of the end to run out 7 – 6 winners.

Vice-President Ian McArthur pictured presenting the Salver Trophy to the winning rink.


2019 James Sharp – Round Robin Completed

The final set of matches in the James Sharp Round Robin were completed last night. Congratulations go to Archie Fulton’s rink who topped the league and lifted the Colquhoun Trophy, with a 6-6 peel against Club President Donald McLaren.

Archie will now play Jonathan Clinch’s rink in the 1st v 2nd playoff, while the 3rd v 4th playoff will be contested between the rinks of Donald McLaren and Robbie Gall.

These matches are to be played 5.30pm Monday 25th March

Good luck to all




2019 Ferniegair Trophy


The points competition for the Ferniegair Trophy was held yesterday evening and attended by some 20 members.   The event was well organised by Club Secretary Archie Fulton. Results were well spread but in joint third and second place respectively were Archie Fulton and Robert Cornwell (despite starting on -4 points for being skips), but way out in front was Ewen Baird with 29 points.

Well done to Ewen, pictured being presented by Club President Donald McLaren.

2019 Away Day


On Tuesday 12th March, 24 HCC Curlers ventured to Greenacres Curling Rink for the annual Away Day. This was a full day of fun curling with food and wine for those who wished. The ends played ranged from normal ends, to silent ends to ends that involved no sliding out. Thanks to George for organising a most enjoyable day.

Congratulations go to the rink of Ewen Baird, Robbie Gall,Tim Tindal and Jim Rogers, winners by some margin, pictured being presented with bottles of wine by organiser George Kerr.  

Brunton Miller 2019 Finals

The final of the Burton Miller was played on the afternoon of Tuesday 5th March 2019  between the Rink of Keith Ferguson, Gordon Murdoch, Alex Brown, David Forrest and the Rink of Peter Proctor, Lawrence Bidwell, Derek Spall and Doug Rintoul. The match started with Rink Ferguson easing into a 2 shot lead after the second end. However, Rink Proctor fought back well to level at 2-2 after four ends. 

In the last 3 ends Rink Ferguson outscored Rink Proctor 4 -1 to run out winners 6-3.

Congratulations to the winning Ferguson rink, seen in photo being presented with the trophy by Secretary Archie Fulton, and a special congratulation to Keith for being on the winning side for a second year running.

The “Wooden Spoon” was decided in a battle between rinks Wardil and Barker with the dubious honour going to Rink Wardil.IMG_2417

2019 Presidents Trophy

IMG_2352On Friday 1st February, our President Donald McLaren hosted the annual Presidents Trophy. Twenty four curlers travelled to Greenacres Ice Rink for a mixture of competition and club social. After coming off the ice the members sat down to a meal, awaiting the results and prizegiving at the end of the evening.
Each competitor played in four two end games. The teams and positions of play were pre-determined by the organiser, with teams composition changing every two ends and each player changing role every two ends. Thanks to Richard Schooling for the organisation whilst causing least confusion as possible.
Each player kept their own personal scorecard recording the plus and minus score from each game to arrive at a final total, which ranged from +7 to -15.
Normally, one individual pulls ahead and wins outright but this year was an extremely close event. Three players were tied on plus 7, Robert Cornwell, Alan Armstrong and the President himself, Donald McLaren. Their score in the ends when each of the three were playing as skip were compared as a tie break. This produced Robert Cornwell as the winner and Alan Armstrong in second place.
Pictured, President Donald McLaren presenting the 2019 winner, Robert Cornwell with the trophy.